Greenwich at Last!

Mooring at Greenwich

Greenwich is my last stop. As the Equestrian Olympic & Paralympic and Modern Pentathlon events are to take place in Greenwich Park, in ‘an arena set behind the National Maritime Museum and the wonderfully grand colonnades of the Old Royal Navy Hospital.’ TimeOut London 2012. Also the Olympic & Paralympic Shooting and Paralympic Archery events will take place at The Royal Artillery Barracks, east of Greenwich nearest to Woolwich Arsenal Rail.

Greenwich Park

Running out of energy I just make it to the gate of Greenwich Park, which looks a beautiful green open space. Unfortunately I am too exhausted to walk through to the Royal Observatory, which has a great view my friend said that morning.

The sun is now starting to go down and I have a memory of visiting Greenwich Market twenty-two years ago. My memory serves me well and the market is open full of various craft stalls…

Greenwich Market

I then head down to see the Cutty Sark, passing the Gipsy Moth Pub which I also remembered. But, Greenwich front is currently looking like a building site and the Cutty Sark all bandaged up.**

I start chatting to two middle-aged women, who tell me that there was a fire started by a vacuum cleaner, which nearly burnt down the ship. Now it is being restored and also a glass structure is being built so it would seem as if the boat is on the sea…

It all sounds very exciting but in January darkness I am literally standing on a building site looking at a wrecked ship, advising the two ladies to go and take a look at the Olympic Park. As they say they want to shop at Westfield, but rarely cross ‘north of the river’ nowadays being from South East London. My London Ambassador role has begun even now….

** The Queen has just reopened The Cutty Sark on April 25th: Various reports via BBCITVTelegraph and how to visit from The Londonist

Leave a Reply

